Turks & Caicos Islands

Learn More About the History of the Turks and Caicos Islands

Our Paradise

  • The Turks and Caicos Islands consist of 40 islands and cays, nine of which are inhabited
  • Cockburn Town on Grand Turk has been the official capital of the country since 1766.
  • 366 Square miles in total.
  • Providenciales is the most developed and populated of all the islands
  • Primary infrastructure is fishing and tourism
  • Prior to Columbus making landfall in 1492, the islands were inhabited by indigenous natives the Tiano and Lucayans. Skilled at fishing, farming and gardening.

Our History

  • In 1706, the French and the Spanish briefly captured the Turks and Caicos Islands from the Bermudians.
  • In 1766, after being controlled by the Spanish, French and British, Turks and Caicos became part of the Bahamas colony and was placed under the Bahamian government.
  • 1841 a slave ship called the Trouvadore sailing from Spain shipwrecked on East Caicos. Some of the slaves on board escaped and settled in Bambarra, Middle Caicos.
  • 1894 The Great Bahama hurricane destroyed most of the chain islands and the British gave Jamaica dependency of the country.
  • 1930’s depression crushed the salt industry in the islands. Salt Cay, at one time, was the largest producer of salt in the world. Briefly revived in the 1940’s when other global resources were cut off by war. Exports were steady until 1964 when industry came to a halt due to lack of workers and modern technology.
  • 1962 Jamaica gained its independence and the British took control of the Turks and Caicos Islands; which remain a British colony today.